ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-09-188

Date Created : 05/29/2009


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
other: Curriculum Coordinators
K-12 English Language Arts Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
2008 Arkansas English Teacher of the Year

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Trina Bright

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Council of Teachers of English and Language Arts, an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of English, awarded four Arkansas educators as 2008 English Teachers of the Year at the Arkansas Curriculum Conference in November 2008. These awards are given to honor Arkansas educators of English language arts each year at the elementary, middle school, high school, and college levels.

Helen Eaton, a teacher at Holcomb Elementary in Fayetteville, has been named the 2008 Arkansas Elementary English Teacher of the Year. D. Theresa Harris, a teacher at Cloverdale Middle School in Little Rock, has been named the 2008 Arkansas Middle School English Teacher of the Year. Sue Shipp, a teacher at South Side High School in Bee Branch, has been named the 2008 Arkansas High School Teacher of the Year. Toran Isom, an instructor in the Department of Rhetoric and Writing at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, has been named the 2008 Arkansas Higher Education English Teacher of the Year.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page