ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : SI-99-040

Date Created : 10/14/1998


Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
other: Teacher Center Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   School Improvement and Instructional Support - Dr. Kevin Penix
Recognition for Accomplishments, Arkansas Elementary School Council

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
J. B. Robertson or Nancy French

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Young Writer's Award, sponsored by the Arkansas Elementary School Council, has been established for fourth, fifth, and sixth grade students. Students may submit works of poetry, fiction, or nonfiction. All entries must be original work.

Students and schools may participate in the following manner:

Each student in grades four, five, or six may submit one original literary work to be judged at the local school by March 1, 1999. The winning entries from the local school are to be sent to the area educational cooperative with the exception of Pulaski County, they will be sent to the Arkansas Department of Education. These entries are due by March 19, 1999, for regional judging.

The entries at the regional level are to be judged by May 3, 1999. The winning entries are to be sent to the Arkansas Department of Education by May 17, 1999, for state judging.

State winners and their schools will be notified by September 1, 1999. The 1999 winners will be recognized at the Charlie May Simon Book Award, Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award, and Young Writer's Award Activities in September 1999.

All entries become the property of the Arkansas Department of Education.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page