Attached are application forms for the reimbursement of educational costs associated with disabled and nondisabled students in approved residential treatment facilities. Act 1392 of 1999, the appropriations bill for the Arkansas Department of Education for the 1999-2001 biennium, increased the appropriation from $8,512,000 to $9,173,950.
State Board of Education Regulations established the reimbursement rate at 2.115 X the Base Local Revenue per Student (BLRS). The per day amount is calculated by dividing the product of 2.115 X the BLRS by 178 school days. At the current BLRS of $4,300.68, the per school day amount is $51.10.
Reimbursement is limited to educational costs for identified students with disabilities and for non-disabled students placed in approved residential facilities. Reimbursement is based on actual cost not to exceed the per school day amount of $51.10.
Changes in the Application
Beginning with the 1999-2000 school year, the Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Office will request the actual education cost per student, per day on the reimbursement application. This will apply to both the disabled and non-disabled applications. Copies of paid invoices reflecting individual student charges must accompany all claims.
The ADE will reimburse school districts for either the actual cost per student, per day or the per day rate calculated by the ADE, whichever is lower. Please refer to the attached instructions for additional information.
Prior to submitting a request for reimbursement, all forms (disabled and nondisabled) must include the following: (1) student name and ID number, (2) name and address of the residential treatment center, (3) number of days served, and (4) verification of residency in Arkansas, as defined by Ark. Code. Ann. 6-18-202. Completed reimbursement forms are to be mailed to:
Arkansas Department of Education
Grants and Data Management
#4 Capitol Mall, Room 105-C
Little Rock, AR 72201-1071
Note: Due to increased educational costs for juveniles housed in the detention facilities, the per day rate reimbursement for residential treatment facilities for drug and alcohol abuse and psychological disorders was reduced from $53.08 to $51.10. Consequently, any reimbursement requests received after the end of the fiscal year may not be paid. Please make this information available to all interested parties.