ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : SI-00-020

Date Created : 09/13/1999


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
other: Private Schools

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Woodrow Cummins
Nominations for Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Roy Barnes and Bill Fulton

Phone Number:


The Department is pleased to cooperate with the National Science Foundation (NSF) in conducting the nomination and selection process for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching. This program was established in 1983 to identify outstanding middle/junior high and senior high teachers of science and mathematics who can serve as models for their colleagues. The program was expanded in 1989 to include teachers at the elementary grades.

To be eligible, secondary teachers must have a minimum of five years teaching experience in mathematics or science and must be assigned at least half time as a science or math teacher in a public or private middle/junior high or senior high school. Eligible elementary teachers are those K-6 teachers with a minimum of five years experience who have at least half-time classroom teaching assignments, which include science and/or mathematics. Both self-contained classroom teachers and specialists are eligible; however, applicants must select the area (mathematics or science) in which they wish to apply.

Please note that requests for application packets should be received in our office by Wednesday, December 1, 1999. This will allow adequate time for teachers to complete the application by the deadline. Teachers may also view and print an application using the NSF Web Site listed on the next page.

The application packet that must be completed and returned to the Science or Mathematics specialist, Arkansas Department of Education by February 25, 2000. A state-level selection committee will review the application packets and select six finalists at the elementary level and six at the secondary level, three each in mathematics and science. The list of state finalists will be forwarded to Washington, DC, where a national selection committee will name one state awardee in mathematics and one in science at both elementary and secondary levels. National winners will receive a trip to Washington, DC, honoring the awardees. Additionally, each of the national awardees will receive a $7,500 grant from the National Science Foundation for a project to be conducted in the teacher's school. Each of the twelve state finalists will receive a cash award in the amount of $750.

Application packets may be viewed and printed by looking at the National Science Foundation's Web Site on the Presidential Awards at: or the attached form may be used to request application packets. Requests for packets should be directed to:

Roy Barnes, K-12 Mathematics
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 State Capitol Mall - Room 107-A
Little Rock, AR 72201


Bill Fulton, K-12 Science
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 State Capitol Mall - Room 107-A
Little Rock, AR 72201


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page